In Sync

ImageSince I’ve started knitting, I’ve been more or less out of sync with the seasons. In the winter, I should have been knitting lightweight sweaters and shawls for the cool mornings and warming afternoons of springtime. In the spring, I should have switched to cottons and linens in preparation for the summer heat. Of course, I didn’t do any of that. Instead, I started with wooly scarfs, mittens and hats. Then I moved on to knitting bulky sweaters. Before too long, the weather warmed and those garments became redundant, and I harumphed about the fact that I didn’t get to use anything I’d made for very long at all. And, because I failed to plan ahead, I had nothing hand knit ready to wear in the summer.

Now, in my defense, it’s not as though I knew that I should plan ahead in this way when I first started knitting. I haven’t even been knitting for a year yet so it’s not like I could have known how to divide my time most efficiently. I tend to learn from my mistakes pretty quickly, though, so I’ve already begun my fall knitting despite the heat and almost unbearable humidity.

Image

This hot little number is my newly finished Milanese Loop, knit with SweetGeorgia’s Superwash Worsted yarn (new favorite!) in the Rosebud colourway. It’s a very impressive-looking knit despite being an easy pattern to follow. I made one small modification to the border, which I decided to knit in seed stitch instead of garter stitch. And even though I would  never describe myself as a pink person, I am totally and completely in love with this colourway! It’s so vibrant and saturated and beautiful that sometimes I can’t stop looking at it.

As for Lara’s sweater, we’re having a fight right now. I joined the sleeves to the body without too much strain, but, of course, I made big mistakes while knitting the raglan decreases. I’d like to say that it was the sweater’s fault, but we (that is, the sweater and I) both know that’s not the truth. I probably should have taken a picture to show you just how badly I messed up this part of the sweater, but I was  way too angry (and embarrassed) to even think about sharing my shame with the internet when I discovered the full extent of my mistake. So, I ripped it back. The sleeves are still joined, which is good, but I think I’ve decided that we need some time apart. Sorry, sweater. It’s not you, it’s me.

So, uh, I guess that’s it for now. Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “In Sync

Leave a comment

