Death By Cute

Last week, while I was at work, I got a text message from my Mom. “At the hospital with Lara. Might be labour. Hope not.” I panicked briefly when I read this, for two good reasons. My sister Lara, as you may have guessed, is indeed pregnant, and her due date isn’t until November. My initial panic, therefore, was out of concern for her health and the health of her baby. But when I called and spoke to my Mom, who by then had heard from the doctor that things were going to be okay and that Lara was not in labour, I had another reason to freak out. This baby, I realized, could come at any time now, and I hadn’t yet done any knitting for him. 

Fortunately, and especially because I’m on vacation this week, it has taken me almost no time to remedy this. I knit this cute set in about 3 hours, starting last night. The mittens were finished first, started at about 11:30 PM and completed sometime after midnight. When I woke up this morning, I immediately cast on the hat and knit quietly by myself while Keith slept. The hat is one I’ve knit before, but instead of using my preferred magic loop, I knit this hat entirely with double pointed needles. As a result, I’ve avoided creating an unwanted seam down the middle front of the hat. I’m really, really pleased with how these have turned out in such a short span of time. Now all that’s left for me to do for this baby boy is to whip up an adorable little sweater…

Specs:

Pattern: Baby Mitts by Susan B. Anderson and Garter Ear Flap Hat by Purl Soho

Yarn: Knit Picks Capra in Wine

Modifications – Mitts: Used smaller needles, cast on 24 stitches and adjusted gauge accordingly, knit k1p1 ribbing for the cuffs

Modifications – hat: None

 

 

5 thoughts on “Death By Cute

  1. You made me smile with your absolutely cute little hat and mittens, and then you made me laugh out loud when you found ‘another reason to freak out’ …! Don’t we just do that? Pressure ourselves? I’m sure your sister would love something you made for her baby whenever you get it done. What a nice thing to do for your sister!

    • My sister is among the small group of people I know will always appreciate my knitting, so I’m always happy to make things for her. And you’re totally right about the way we pressure ourselves! I woke up in the middle of the night a few days ago and found myself unable to fall back asleep because I couldn’t stop thinking about the various gifts I want/need to make soon. It’s a good thing I knit pretty fast! 🙂

Leave a comment

