So Close!

sargeant blocked

Yo yo! How’s it going, everyone? I hope your weekends have been better than mine has been. Since Friday, I have had to deal with the following:

– a sore throat and mild fever with attendant whining;

– an expected quiet recovery day thwarted by my neighbour’s outdoor project, which consisted solely of cutting concrete from 9 AM to 5 PM right next to my living room window on the first open-window day since we took out the air conditioner; and

– a dead freezer and its rotting, smelly contents.

Very unpleasant indeed.

The real reason I’m here, though, is not to whine some more about my weekend. Instead, I come bearing glad tidings, for I have finally, finally completed the knitting of my SSKAL project! That’s right, everyone, I finished! On time! With mere days to spare before the deadline!

I am thrilled, obviously, that I’ve managed to squeek this one over the finish line with room to spare. However, this sweater isn’t quite ready to wear just yet.

Sargeant Pullover wrong side

I have about a million ends to weave in before it will be wearable, but the sleeves have been sewn in and the neckline is finished, so I’m calling this one done. I can confirm that it fits well and looks great with some of my skirts, which is thrilling,  and I know this pullover is going to get a lot of wear this fall and winter. I promise to come back with some action shots, but before that happens, I have to do my time in end weaving purgatory. Wish me luck!

18 thoughts on “So Close!

    • Thank you! I am very pleased with it. The sleeves were done in a flash, but the body was sloooooooow going. I definitely got faster closer to the finish line.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I actually enjoy weaving in ends now that I know how to do it properly (i.e. invisibly). But the prospect of weaving in all these ends is a bit overwhelming at the moment!

    • Thank you! The pattern is Amy Christoffers’ Sargeant Pullover. It was published in her new book, New American Knits. The whole book is fantastic! There are at least two more sweaters I need to make from it.

  1. Pingback: Christmas Knit List | The Knitted

  2. I sincerely empathize, having spent some time in the weaving purgatory myself on a recent intarsia sweater. Believe me, yours does not look that bad. Take courage, just one end at a time….

    • Happily, I finished weaving in all the ends this weekend! And you’re right, it wasn’t as bad as I anticipated. Now, I just need some cooler days (preferably weekend days) so that I can take pictures and properly show off the fruits of my labour.

  3. wow! it looks really nice! I am just looking through rav and my books what I will knit next…
    what yarn did you use for this jumper? I’ve been knitting my riddari jumper with lett-lopi, icelandic sheep wool, but it is quite itchy but I hope a nice soak will fix this but also investigating other yarns…

    • Thank you! I used Knit Picks Wool of the Andes for this pullover. It’s not as itchy (or as warm) as lett-lopi, but it’s pretty rustic feeling and well behaved, so it’s perfect for stranded colourwork. And it’s cheap! I bought this yarn on sale and the whole thing cost somewhere in the neighborhood of $25. The yarn is still very reasonable priced when not on sale, though.

      • wow that is really a great price! I find it hard to buy wool online, I want to have a feel first and I haven’t seen any knit picks yarns in Berlin yet, though I haven’t been to all the yarn shops here either…
        I have a few skeins of alpaca here which I’ll probably use next but first I have to rip apart my first attempt of a shawl which failed badly…

      • I know what you mean about wanting to feel the wool before buying. Knit Picks is so inexpensive, though, that buying a few skeins to try out never seemed like a waste of money to me. And I have yet to be disappointed by any of their WOTA or Stroll sock yarns. 🙂

  4. Oh dear. I hope that things have settled since your post and that you’re feeling better!

    The sweater is absolutely stunning!

Leave a comment

