Love at First Sight

Loie full

I am not a very impulsive person. There was definitely a time in my life when I was more impulsive and less thoughtful when it came to things like money or big life events, but the lessons of youth tend to be learned the hard way, and boy, have I learned from those mistakes. Now, I’m a person who does my homework and studies all the options from any possible angle, which can be both good and bad. Good, of course, because it’s best to be informed, but bad because I tend to worry that the decisions I’ve made are the wrong ones when presented with too many possibilities. It’s true what they say about age and wisdom, though, and I make fewer wrong decisions than right ones at this point in my life.

That’s not to say that I’m above being lured in by shiny things, though. When the pattern for Loie was first published on Ravelry earlier this year, there was no question that I would be making one for myself. When I learned that the shawl pattern was being sold with Lilou Posh DK as a kit, I couldn’t give the designer my money fast enough. The prospect of knitting the most beautiful pattern I’d ever seen with the most luxurious mix of alpaca, cashmere and silk had me practically salivating. The price tag, though steep, was no deterrent. Nothing, and I mean nothing, was going to stand in the way of me and this shawl.

Loie detail

Okay, first thing’s first: I love this shawl. I’m so impressed with the art deco ribbing and the beautiful cable and lace detail on the edging. The fibre content of the yarn gives it a gorgeous drape, and the sort of curved triangular shaping means that it sits really nicely over my shoulders. This shawl turned out exactly as the sample picture promises, and that’s a very good thing. But do you know what I hated about this shawl? Knitting it. I can’t really explain why. The pattern was certainly well written and easy to follow, and it definitely delivered what it promised. But for some reason, I just couldn’t make myself work on it for any length of time. I started this project in March and it took me until this past weekend–a whole six months later–to complete it, which is so unlike me when I love a pattern as much as I loved this one. I was starting to feel a bit glum about the whole thing, wondering if I’d wasted my money on something I would never finish, when I read Sarah’s blog post about how to get things done. In this post, she notes that when a project starts to get boring, it’s best get it done ASAP. So that’s just what I decided to do. It took almost all of my Saturday but, by wool (to borrow an expression from the Yarn Harlot), I finished, without any regrets.  And the result isn’t half bad, either.

Loie full 2

Readers: How do you cope with a project when the love is gone? What do you do to regain the magic?

Specs:

Pattern: Loie by Beth Kling

Yarn: Lilou Posh DK in Bronze

Modifications: none

9 thoughts on “Love at First Sight

  1. maybe knitting more projects at the same time would help? because that’s what I do when I am sick of one of my projects, I jump to another one until that one becomes boring and I switch again.
    but, the shawl looks really nice! well done!

    • That is often my approach, too. But I found with this shawl, I started casting on new projects just to avoid working on the things I didn’t want to work on. It seemed like it might become a vicious cycle if I didn’t eventually put an end to it. 🙂

  2. Love at first sight for me too! ❤

    Finishing something ASAP when it gets boring? That would make the product forever unlikeable for me — every time I see it, I would be reminded of how I forced myself to complete it. I keep the project aside until I feel the urge to work on it again. Many a time, I do that even when I'm not bored. After all, who says one has to work on only one thing at a time? 🙂

    • An excellent point! And I’m inclined to agree with you. Forcing yourself to do something you don’t want to is a surefire fun killer. I’m just glad that this shawl turned out so well in the end, despite the fact that I had to push myself to get it done!

Leave a comment

