Sock Roundup

When I woke up this morning, the air was chilly in a way it hadn’t been in months. It was early–the first morning after turning the clocks back–and the light hadn’t yet broken over the horizon. As I fumbled my way through the dark, trying to not to wake Keith, I only had two thoughts: 1) I want tea, and 2) where are my socks? Then I realized that what I really wanted, no, needed, was warmth. And isn’t it great to be able to provide warmth for yourself with nothing more than your own two hands, some sticks and some string?

You might remember my Gladys socks from a few weeks ago. Though I wasn’t able to finish them in Lisbon, they still remind me of my vacation every time I put them on my feet. These socks, made with Knit Picks Stroll Fingering in Dove Gray, were just the right level of challenging without being too complex. The pattern made it easy to keep track of the sizing so that the second sock didn’t somehow become (ahem) larger than the first. (like you’ve never made that mistake before…)

But before I knit my own socks, I had two siblings to knit for. In August, I made some socks for my brother, Clifford.

Then, in September, it was Duncan’s birthday, and he got a pair of socks, too.

IMG_20141102_090148

Both of these socks are pretty basic with no exciting details. Clifford’s socks are, in my opinion, the more visually appealing of the two, despite the near perfect (and 100% accidental) stripe matching on Duncan’s socks. I made Clifford’s socks with  Fleece Artist Trail Socks in Brew. Duncan, my hard-working plumber brother, got the decidedly less exciting but sturdy and hardwearing Regia Denim Look in Grey. I hope that both pairs last a good long while, but if I had to put money on it, I’d bet on the Regia every single time.

After finishing the sibling socks, I made for myself what are probably the coolest socks ever.

IMG_20141102_090056

These are a mutation of Clara Parkes’ popular Stepping Stones pattern knit with Plucky Sweater in Boots and Faded Jeans (main), Pack Your Bags (blue toe) and Brulee (orange toe).  Thick, plush and plump, these are definitely my favorite socks of the moment.

Alright, so, that was my boring sock update. I hope you enjoyed the pictures even though the words were kind of ho-hum. I think my next post will be about a sweater, so that’s something to look forward to, right?

2 thoughts on “Sock Roundup

Leave a comment

