A Change of Plans

Well.

Since the Christmas break, I have completed three Sewaholic Hollyburn skirts. They are gorgeous, classy-looking and very well suited to my figure, and the best part is that they’re pretty well made, if I do say so. I mean, they’re not perfect; the zippers on the first two could be somewhat tidier, but no one would notice unless they got their faces right up against my ass (and I’m hard pressed to imagine a scenario in which that would happen). I’m sure there might be a few other minor deficiencies, but the honest truth is that I’m blind to any of these if they exist at all. I love my three new skirts and I have worn them to the exclusion of every other skirt I own for the last two months or so.

It’s no exaggeration when I say that I plan to fill my wardrobe with numerous versions of my new favorite skirt. But I realized this week, as I prepared to begin my fourth version, that it’s probably time I showed you my work up to now. I had been waiting for more time, better lighting (curse you, low winter light!!!) and, of course, some courage, but eventually I decided that this would be the weekend I showed you the fruits of my sewing labours.

And then, I got sick.

Rest assured, I am not deathly ill by any stretch. But I am quite unpleasant to look at right now, what with my crusty, dripping, red nose and frequent sneezing that is so loud, I could wake the dead. Anyway, the point is that I look gross, so my skirt pictures will have to wait.

In the meantime, though, check out what I’ve been working on!

IMG_20150222_080036

Allow me to introduce Little Wave, a gorgeous, relaxed fit cardigan with a luxurious shawl collar designed by Gudrun Johnson. I’m making this using Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Superwash in the striking Indigo Heather colourway. The jury is still out on this yarn–I intended to get the non-superwash variety because I know how it behaves and I like working with it, but, lured in by a low sale price, I accidentally ordered the superwash version instead–but there is no doubt how I feel about the iridescent richness of the dark blue-purple. Is it weird that I sometimes stop knitting just so I can look at the colour? Surely, I can’t be alone in doing this.

I know the garment looks very lumpy and misshapen at this stage, but take a look at what the finished article will be like. Awesome, yes? Very fortunately, it looks like I am on track to avoid some of the fitting problems that dogged me in my last two BT sweaters, mainly because I expect it to be a comfortable, relaxed fit and I’ll be less upset about the shoulders maybe being too large, for example. So far, it seems like I might not even have to worry about it fitting too relaxed, though. I’ve been knitting at a tighter gauge in anticipation that the yarn will grow quite significantly once it hits water, and at this point it fits like a glove. So, some additional growth in size would be welcome.

One of the great advantages of being sick-but-not-too-sick is that I have a totally valid reason to hunker down indoors and work on my knitting, so I plan to bind off the shoulders and maybe begin the shawl collar today. After that, it’s only a hop, skip and a jump to my new finished sweater. And, in the meantime, I get to wear my new favorite socks.

IMG_20150215_070321

Because nothing beats the winter blues like a colourful pair of socks, am I right? Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must go and blow my nose.

Specs 

Pattern: Jeck by Regina Satta

Yarn: Colinette Jitterbug in Mardi Gras

Needle: 2.5 mm

Mods: CO 60 st instead of 64 st, fish lips kiss heel

2 thoughts on “A Change of Plans

Leave a comment

